Odisha Young Scientists Award

Dr. Sudhanwa Patra, Assistant Professor, Department of Physics has been selected for the most prestigious “Odisha Young Scientists Award" in the category of Physical Sciences for the year 2018 in recognition of his outstanding contributions in the field of science and technology. The Government of Odisha, Science & Technology Department have instituted several awards to honour eminent scientists/engineers of Odisha for their outstanding contributions to science and technology.

Dr. Patra has a brilliant academic career and has broad research interests in the theoretical High Energy Physics, Astro-Particle Physics and Cosmology, with specialization in Neutrino Physics and Grand Unification of fundamental forces. He has already established himself as one of the leading physicists in his age group, both at the national and international levels. He has published 40 plus research papers in internationally reputed high-impact journals like Phys Rev Lett, JHEP, JCAP, Phys Rev D, Phys Lett B, etc. According to the SLAC Inspire database, his papers have got more than 1000 citations, 10 of those with more than 50 citations each, and his h-index is an impressive 18, which clearly shows the high quality and productivity of his research work. Dr. Patra is the recipient of several prestigious fellowships and awards, such as NASI Young Scientist Award, MaxPlanck society fellowship at the Max-Planck-Institut fuer Kernphysik, Heidelberg, the Young Scientist Award from Odisha Physical Society and the Young Researcher Award from Siksha ‘O’ Anusadhan University. He has also been invited to visit ICTP, Italy as many as six times for various conferences and workshops.

He has also continued doing excellent research work at the international level, and collaborating with some leading scientists in his field of research, both in India and abroad, such as Frank Deppisch (University College London, UK), Bhupal Dev (Washington University, USA), Manfred Lindner (Max-Planck Institute, Germany), Rabi Mohapatra (Maryland, USA), Heinrich Paes (Dortmund University, Germany), Emmanuel Paschos (Dortmund University, Germany), Werner Rodejohann (Max-Planck Institute, Germany), Naredra Sahu (IIT, Hyderabad), Utpal Sarkar (IIT, Kharagpur) and Jose Valle (Valencia, Spain). Apart from gaining significant teaching experience both at BTech, MSc and PhD levels, Dr. Patra has already supervised a PhD student (DST-INSPIRE fellowship and Awarded PhD degree already) at the age of 32 yrs along with two more PhD research scholars working under his supervision. He has also mentored a post-doctoral fellow, Dr. Nitali Das (who was part of Indian Neutrino Observatory (INO) experiment) and several summer students. He has also successfully handles a major research grant from DST, India where he published 15 papers in top journals.

Message From Director

IIT Bhilai is striving for research-driven undergraduate and postgraduate education. Our objective is to create an education system with multifacet outcomes including research, entrepreneurship, technical leadership, and above all, responsible citizenship. Read More


Subscribe to our Newsletter and stay tuned.